



Wisconsin Association of PEG Channels

Serving the needs of public, education, and government cable access television stations since 1998.

2006-2007 Board of Directors

President Joel Desprez Eau Claire Community TV

April 26, 2007

Vice-President **Judi Kneece** Janesville JATV-12

Treasurer Finance Chair **Deb Brunett** Merrill Productions

Secretary

Dan Kummer

Marshfield Public Access

Membership Chair **Dawn Wills** River Falls Community TV

Resources Chair **John Jordan** Wausau Public Access

Dave Knutson Beloit College

Galen Lingl
Mauston Public Access

Communications/Public Policy Chair **Alan Luckett** Whitewater Station 13

Scott Mealiff Sheboygan TV 8 WSCS

John Quirk Stevens Point Community Television

ACM Representative **Mary Shanahan Spanic** West Allis Community Media Center

Executive Director Mary Cardona 608-215-5594 608-233-6148 (fax) wapc@tds.net

Representative Gary Hebl Room 304 West State Capitol Madison, Wisconsin

Dear Representative Hebl,

WAPC is most grateful for all you have done on behalf of public, education, and government access television stations in Wisconsin. You carried our message to members of the Assembly and urged fellow legislators in the Senate to support local programming. To acknowledge the key role you have played in raising the profile of this crucial issue and garnering legislative support for PEG, WAPC is presenting you with a 2007 Friend of Access award.

WAPC would like to present this award to you at the WAPC Annual Conference on Friday, May 4 during our opening luncheon at the Sheraton Hotel in Madison. Other 2007 recipients are Sen. Judy Robson for her leadership in the Senate, and Friends of OCAT, which underwrote the cost of establishing the Save Access Wisconsin website.

This is the second year for this award. Last year, Rep. Tammy Baldwin was the first recipient of a similar award for her efforts in the House of Representatives on behalf of PEG stations. Tammy introduced a "Do No Harm" amendment that would have provided a 1% PEG fee and grandfathered all financial and in-kind support for PEG access channels above the 1% level.

The Video Competition Act (SB107) as introduced was designed to abolish PEG stations across the state. We have come a long way in a few weeks from losing nearly every station to saving nearly every station in Wisconsin. No matter what happens in the future with this bill, we are indebted to your strong steadfast leadership that has gotten us to this point. Truly, you are a Friend of Access.

I am attaching a copy of the brochure for your convenience. Please let us know if you will be able to attend.

Sincerely,

Joel Desprez President

Cc: Governor Jim Doyle Ms. Pam Steitz, Kids 4

Mr. Joe Chase, Mayor, Sun Prairie

Mr. Bill Brehm, WSTO

Ms. Helen Johnson, Mayor, Stoughton Ms. Liz Harlow, Oregon Community Cable Mr. Gerald Jensen, Chair, Town of Oregon

WAPC Members