

Wisconsin Association of PEG Channels

Serving the needs of public, education, and government cable access television stations since 1998.

2008 - 2009 Board of Directors

President John Foust Jefferson JPEG **Finance** Chair

Vice-President John Jordan Wausau Public Access

Treasurer **Deb Brunett** Merrill Productions Finance Committee Chair

Secretary Mick Givens **Rice Lake Public Access**

Brad Clark Madison City Channel Public Policy Chair

Joel Desprez Chippewa Valley Community TV

> Dan Kummer Marshfield Public Access

Galen Lingl Mauston Public Access

Alan Luckett Whitewater Community TV

Scott Mealiff Sheboygan WSCS - TV Communications Chair

Mary Shanahan Spanic West Allis Community Media Center

Tom Soik Sturgeon Bay Public Access Membership Chair

> Pam Steitz Sun Prairie - Kids Conferences Chair

Executive Director Mary Cardona 608-215-5594 608-233-6148 (fax)

> Webmaster Jane Jiumaleh

wapc@tds.net

www.saveaccesstvwisconsin.org

February 17, 2009

Mr. Joe Van Eaton Attorney at Law Miller & Van Eaton, PLLC 1155 Connecticut Ave. N. W. Suite 1000 Washington, D. C. 20036

Dear Joe,

It is my pleasure to inform you that the WAPC Board of Directors has chosen you to receive a 2009 WAPC Friend of Access Award in recognition for your continuing work in support of public, education, and government access television stations in Wisconsin.

Our members have always benefited from your expertise at our conferences and workshops from time to time, but last year, you generously provided WAPC with your services in a matter of great importance to PEG in Wisconsin. Your intervention persuaded Charter Communications to keep PEG stations on the basic analog tier. Without this success, PEG would have been moved exclusively to a digital tier where a large portion of cable subscribers would no longer have been able to see them. As you well know, the situation for PEG in Wisconsin is not ideal, but our position would have been more grave without your help. We appreciate your generosity and the generosity of Miller and Van Eaton generally in coming to our aid.

WAPC would like to present this award to you at the WAPC annual conference on Friday, May 1 during our opening luncheon at 11:30 a.m. at the Country Springs Hotel in Waukesha. WAPC also invites you to speak at that time and include your thoughts about the Alliance for Community Media petition for a declaratory ruling now before the FCC that challenges AT&T's manner of carriage of PEG channels. WAPC would pick up your hotel and basic flight expenses.

Other 2009 recipients are Attorney Anita Gallucci and Dr. Barry Orton. This is the fourth year for the Friend of Access award. Previous recipients include Representative Tammy Baldwin, State Senators Judy Robson and Kathleen Vinehout, Wisconsin Representatives Louis Molepske and Gary Hebl, and the Friends of Oshkosh Community Access Television.

Thank you, Joe. Truly, you are a Friend of Access.

Sincerely.

lang Cardona

Mary Cardona **Executive Director**

cc: WAPC Members